{Halloween recipe} The love philter

Apple love potion-3

In the book I found on Sunday (Magical flavors, 49 extraordinary recipes and tips for kitchen boy), recipe n°5 was intriguing. There was a note from the author : “When I lived in Paris, I used to go to Café Flores every Thursday. This is where I met Apolline for the first time. I always ordered the same thing : a coffee with milk and croissant. As I was going to ask for it, one beautiful young woman interrupted me. You should try the house apple juice. It’s delicious, she said. And I did order the house apple juice. That juice was absolutely divine. When I turned my head left to thank Apolline for the good advice, she already had left. One young man was seating at her place. This is when and where I met your uncle for the first time.”

Recipe n°5 : The love philter by Apolline, written in Paris, France

Ingredients (1 philter):

  • 20cl/7 fl.oz apple juice
  • 1/2 lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • 1/2 coffeespoon of cinnamon
  • 1 pinch of ginger powder

Apple love potion-5

Directions :

In a shaker, pour the apple juice. Add the honey. Press half a lemon and pour the juice in the shaker.

Add the cinnamon and ginger powder. Shake the cocktail thinking to the person you want to charm. Serve the juice to the dear one and wait for him or her to drink it until the last drop.

Find more recipes of the book :

{Halloween recipe} Mummy coconut & cardamom milk rice pudding

Apple love potion-2

En VF :

Dans le livre que je trouvais dimanche (La magie des saveurs : 49 recettes extraordinaires et astucieuses pour marmitons), la recette n°5 a retenu toute mon attention. Il y avait une note de l’auteur : “Lorsque j’habitais Paris, j’avais pour habitude de me rendre au Café Flores tous les jeudis. C’est là que j’ai rencontré Apolline pour la première fois. Je commandais toujours la même chose : un café crème et un croissant. Alors que j’allais commander, une jeune femme très belle m’interrompit. Vous devriez essayer le jus de pomme de la maison, il est excellent me dit-elle. C’est ce que je fis. Je ne le regrettais pas. Ce jus de pomme était absolument divin. Je me retournais pour remercier Apolline de son conseil avisé mais elle avait déjà quitté les lieux. A sa place se trouvait un jeune homme. Ce fût la première fois que je parlais à votre oncle.”

Recette n°5 : Le philtre d’amour par Apolline, recueilli à Paris en France

Apple love philtre

Ingrédients (1 philtre):

  • 20cl de jus de pomme
  • 1/2 jus de citron
  • 1 1/2 cuillère à café de miel
  • 1/2 cuillère à café de canelle
  • 1 pincée de gingembre moulu

La recette :

Dans un shaker, verser le jus de pomme. Ajouter une cuillère et demi à café de miel. Presser un demi citron. Verser le jus dans le shaker.

Ajouter la cannelle et une pincée de gingembre moulu. Mélanger bien le tout en pensant à la personne que vous voulez charmer. Lui servir la potion et attendre que ce dernier ou cette dernière la boive jusqu’à la dernière goutte.

Lire d’autres recettes du livre :

{Recette d’Halloween} Riz au lait à la noix de coco et à la cardamome pour réveiller une momie

One thought on “{Halloween recipe} The love philter

  1. I love your blog and your photos are beautiful – so nicely captured! This sounds like the perfect drink for autumn 🙂

Leave a Reply

