Homemade marshmallow using agar-agar

Homemade marshmallow with agar agar-2

Marshmallows are so delicious and fun. I love the airy and melting in mouth texture. For a complete come back in childhood I’ve used fizzy sugar to envelop the marshmallows. My guests just loved it. The five adults we were, transformed into five kids in less than one minute. This recipe uses agar-agar. It’s medium difficult and the use of a candy thermometer is highly recommended.

Homemade marshmallows using agar-agar

Ingredients (30-50 marshmallows):

  • 3 egg whites
  • 250g/8,82oz sugar
  • 100ml/3,38fl.oz water
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 5g/1 teaspoon agar-agar
  • Icing sugar
  • 1 point of a knife of powdered red food colouring (optional)

 Homemade marshmallow with agar agar

Directions:

In a small bowl, dissolve agar-agar into 100 ml of cold water.

In a small saucepan, boil the sugar, honey and agar-agar. Place over medium to high heat until the syrup reaches 121°C/250°F (approx. 7 minutes).

Whisk the egg whites until firm (I used an electric mixer). Add a knife of powdered red food colouring.

When the syrup is ready, slowly pour it into the whites and continue to whisk.

Cover a rectangular plate or baking sheet with parchment paper. Or use silicone molds of any size and shape.

Pour the marshmallow mixture in the prepared plate or baking sheet and use a spatula to spread it.  Allow to dry for 10 hours.

The next day, cut the marshmallows into pieces and roll them into icing sugar. Store in an airtight container. The marshmallows should last for a week but I never waited that long to confirm.

Last time I made marshmallows, I used some of the mixture to add a marshmallow layer to Christian Constant fabulous chocolate tart. Hope he would like it 🙂

Chocolate and marshmallow tart

48 thoughts on “Homemade marshmallow using agar-agar

  1. Hi, thanks for the recipe. I made them yesterday and they have come out quite wet, like little jellies. They look and taste like marshmallows though! Do you know where I went wrong or do you think they just need to dry out more? Thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Laura, thank you for sharing your experience. I’m so sorry the recipe went wrong. This marshmallow recipe should give a result that is quite airy and chewy and then melting in mouth. Even through the texture is not exactly as the marshmallows you buy at supermarket. The tricky part of this recipe is when you pour the syrup in the egg whites. It’s really important you egg whites are firm before you slowly slowly pour the syrup at the right temperature and continue to whisk. Also when your mixture is ready, do not pour it in a too big recipient. Make sure you have at least 1 inche thickness. It’s recommended you wait the whole night before cutting into pieces but usually you can see the result after two hours. Please let me know if you attend another try and hope those ones are gonna be perfect this time :)!

    • Hi Jodi – I use agar agar powder. For this recipe, I use one teaspoon which is equivalent to 5 grams. I never tried with flakes so I don’t know what would be the exact proportion but I guess it’s similar to powder. Please share your marsmallow pics after you made them 🙂

    • Hi Nasrine – I’m sorry the recipe went wrong. The ingredients are correct so something should have been wrong with the recipe. 2g agar agar powder is equivalent 4 gelatin leaves so you shouldn’t need more than a teaspoon(5g). When just finished, the preparation is liquid and you should allow to dry for 10 hours. I’m not equiped for video unfortunately. Please let me know if you make another attempt. Hope this will turn right.

  2. Bonjour from Germany! 😉

    I tried so many different types of variations and most of off totally failed out…
    I tried it for example with carrageenan, but it was very jelly.;/
    And I dont want to use corn syrup, I dont like the taste. So its nice to see this recipe with using a little bit of honey – thats great! I like this recipe and it worked. Im just waiting until they are dry. I just let the food color away, like them classic, but with some coconut flakes.:)

    Oh – and for those it didnt work:

    I really did wait, and allow the syrup to be cool off BEFORE I put the egg w’s into syrup und wisk for a while.When the syrup is too hot anyway its not going to work out. If u make sure about that its going to work.;) Nice try!

    Thanks for the recipe!
    Best regards

  3. Hi, I tried this recipe about 4 days ago, and not only has the mixture still not set, it tastes horrible! It looks right though 😦 any ideas on where I went wrong? Should the egg whites be soft peaks or stiff peaks? And on my candy thermometer should I go to soft ball or hard ball? Should I add the syrup to the egg whites immediately after reaching the right temperature or let it cool down? How stuff should my marshmallow mixture be?

    Sorry for the bombardment of questions, I just really want these to work and the other recipes I’ve seen don’t look as good!

    Amy

    • Hi Amy – I’m sorry for the delay – busy time – and that you had a hard time with the recipe. You eggs should be stiff peaks when you add the syrup. The syrup should have reach hard ball (250°F). Let it cool down for a bit so it’s not too hot when you slowly pour it on the egg that you continue to whisk. Then, you egg/syrup mixture should be thick, shiny and still liquid. It’s the drying step that allows to reach the right texture. If you didn’t put enough agar-agar (but don’t exceed the quantity of the recipe), that might take longer than a night.
      Hope this help !
      Best,
      Cécile

  4. Awesome! I was looking for such recipe that does not consist of gelatine and corn syrup (glucose). I was going to experiment that but then I thought why should I waste my time for a failure. At last I successfully found this recipe. I will absolutely try and make it.
    Thanks a lot for the recipe.

  5. How can you use those agar agar flakes, do we just melt it in water or just use it as powder??? And how many cups will 250g be??

  6. OMG this recipe is the best. Although reading other comments made me tweak the recipe a little. I did 4 egg whites not 3, and two teaspoons of agar in 200ml water. I poured the hot syrup in a very thin stream onto the beaten egg whites while the mixer was turning. By the 1st hour it had already set.

  7. Hey hi…I’m from India…….I’m confused …….after dissolving the agar agar in cold water should I let it stand or should I directly boil the agar mixture and after boiling what should be the texture i should be looking for….

    • Hi Misha – You can directly boil the agar mixture. It will be liquid after boiling as it only jellifies when cooling. That’s why it’s important to get the right dosage agar/liquid. If you don’t use enough agar, the mixture will remain liquid. If you put too much it will get too solid. You’ll get use to it after a while. Let me know how it get !

      • I did it but it didn’t solidify…..I think I used less agar….neva mind I’ll try next time……must say even though the marshmallow was runny it did taste good…..so thanks

    • Hi – Yes of course you can as soon as your egg whites are firm. The honey shouldn’t make a big difference. I recommand you replace by a tablespoon of sugar syrup or molasses.

  8. 250g of sugar is equivalent to 1 1/4 cup, not 1 3/4! That said, I tried this recipe for the first time today, and it worked perfectly even though I was using approximate volumetric conversions. I did not wait for the sugar to cool before whisking it in, since it firms up so quickly from hard-ball. I did mix continuously on high-speed while I poured though. The mixture started to set up as quickly as I could pour it! It tastes a little “meatier” than a store-bought marshmallow, I think because of the honey and egg (and I used unrefined sugar, which comes out more sour than refined), but I like that. The texture is very creamy, it dissolves more readily in the mouth than store-bought.

    • Hi Finn – thank you for sharing your tips. I actually removed cup conversion long time ago because it depends which kind of sugar you use (and weight is more precise for pastry). Definitely agree with you, the texture is not exactly like store-bought marshmallows but it melts better in the mouth.

  9. I have finally made this and it is great so far! It’s just setting now, so the final verdict will come tomorrow, but I am super excited to share with you what I will be doing with it! 😀

  10. Hello, thank you so much for this recipe–I am allergic to gelatin and I really miss marshmallows, so I look forward to making this work! Because it is hard for me to get agar agar, I would like to clarify one point before I try it, please: “When the syrup is ready, slowly pour it into the whites and continue to whisk.” I’ve seen in other comments that syrup needs to be cooled for a while first, so I have two questions; one, how long should I cool the syrup, and two, how long should I continue to whisk before I stop and pour it out?

    • Hi – Actually, I don’t wait for the syrup to cool. Because the syrup is hot, it is very important to pour it very slowly in a thin trickle on the egg whites while continuing to whisk. This takes about 1-2 minutes. Hope this helps !

  11. Pingback: marshmallows | Chemistry of Cooking

  12. I made this recipe using Natalie’s tips which turned out well, however I think next time I will use your original recipe but add some vanilla. I used the marshmallow to make rocky road. My husband is intolerant to sulphites (preservative 220-228) which is found in most gelatin hence the need for a different recipe.

  13. Pingback: Small batch vanilla bean marshmallows for your hot chocolate | The Furious Pear Pie

  14. Hi, i tried this recipe yesterday, however, it came up quite wet and after leaving it overnight i had to dust it with corn flour to even be able to handle it. Also i found that the Agar Agar left an unpleasant after taste, which led me to throwing the batch away :(.

    I beat the eggs so they form firm peaks, and added the syrup at 121c. I noticed that it is very similar to a Nougat recipe, will it also firm up more the longer i beat it like Nougat does?

    Regarding Agar Agar…
    As i have never used Agar Agar before i am not sure if it is supposed to have a taste, maybe i got the wrong brand?

    i used this stuff:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00GVXJ39O?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00

  15. Hi! Can’t wait to try !
    Can these marshmallows be eaten with hot chocolate?
    Also, how much is the shelf life?
    Does it have to be refrigerated?

  16. I tried your your recipe last week. I liked that it used ingredients readily available in a regular kitchen, no additives.

    Followed it exactly, except for the temp. I could not get the temp to rise beyond 110. Probably, my pan was too small… kept rising to the brim. I did use the regular “one-string” method, (8-9 minutes) and the texture is perfect to the touch.

    The next day, texture was good … light and airy. It cut well. My testers … 11 year old twins said “they melt in the mouth”

    Next trial I will make sure to get the temperature up to 121.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Just want to ask one thing, after adding agar- sugar mixture to egg whites, for how much time should I whisk it, just so as to incorporate or until very thick and shiny, and do you have any idea how many minutes will it take approximately when I am using handheld electric whipper which I have, plz reply soon.

      • Hi – Sorry for the late reply, I’ve just read your message. So just to make sure, you should heat the agar agar with sugar and honey. That is the only way the agar agar works. Then you pour the syrup slowly to the egg whites that you started to whisk already. It’s similar to the Italian meringue technique. Hope this help. Best

  17. Hi I tried your marshmellows but o must he done something wrong.
    Do you fridge set it?
    Have you ever tried this recipe with an alternative to sugar, like rice malt syrup?
    Thanks for your help
    Sandra

    • Hi Sandra – I’ve never tried with an alternative to sugar. And I don’t fridge the mixture, just let it at room temperature (but not too hot of course). Hope this will work ! Best, Cecile

  18. Pingback: Thyme Marshmallows Made with Agar-Agar | Scratchin' It

  19. Pingback: S’more What? | No Cow in Cowtown

  20. These were great. I used them to make oven smores for my veg and non-Pork eating students after school camp. They were easy to cut and put in the oven a couple of hours after I made them, and they firmed up overnight to be a little more like regular marshmallow texture. (They were very airy and light last night). They looked spectacular! The kids really liked them. I subbed a teaspoon of vanilla for same of water. I’d double that next time, and leave out the honey, or sub with agave.

  21. Pingback: Easter Treats | Feed My Family!

  22. I made thee today with a few additives, I used 4 eggs whites instead of 3, and put a little vanilla in after the egg whites where stiff. I also doubled my water, and added in a axtra teaspoon of Agar Agar, two tablespoons of sweet rice powder (added at the same time as agar) which is used as a thicker.
    I got most of these recommendations from other comments on here, and so far my marsh mellows mixlooks good.
    They taste absolutely delishous and look it looks like a large white pillow. I’m hoping it sets-but if it doesn’t it will just be really nice marshmallow fluff! I had to stop our two year old because I think he would of eaten the whole tray!
    Thank you for the recipe, it was nice a simple to make compared to some of the other alternatives on the internet!

Leave a Reply

