Coconut bites (“Congolais”)

congolais_coconut cake

Coconut bites (“Congolais”) The coconut bites were one of my favorite treat as a child. And I still think it’s really enjoyable. The recipe is extremely simple and quick. A homemade 4 o’clock in just a minute. I tried to use a pastry bag to shape the bites but the texture is really thick. It might work if you have a big tip. Otherwise, just have fun – with or without kids – shaping them with hands.

Ingredients (for 18 coconut bites):

  • 150g/5,3oz grated coconut
  • 100g/3,5oz sugar
  • 3 egg whites

Directions: Preheat the oven to 200°C/390°F Mix all the ingredients together. – Optional: Christophe Felder, French pastry chef, recommends to cook the ingredients for 10 minutes in a bain-marie before cooking in the oven. It reduces the oven cooking time and help keeping the cake’s heart more tender. – Make some small pyramids and shape the bites as you like. Place them on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Cook for 15 minutes.

congolais_002

6 thoughts on “Coconut bites (“Congolais”)

  1. hi
    I tried to comment earlier but it looks like it didn´t got through. I give it another try !
    I just wanted to tell you that I know these coconut cakes and just love them, they take me back to my youth. We used to bake them at home before Christmas, they are soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside and the taste is great. I remember we used to add some orange zest to the mixture before baking and I can recommend that if you want to try another version. We often dipped the bottom into melted chocolate and chocolate never hurts does it . Was fun to see this and the pictures are great ! Thanks !
    Oli
    (from allthatcooking.com)

Leave a Reply

